1. Home
  2. Work with Tasks
  3. Following a task

Following a task

Following a task means you will receive notifications about new activities in the particular task or subtask. Typically when someone comments a task, completes a task or changes a due date.
There are two types of notifications:

You can set followers when creating a new task in section Notify other users…
You can set followers when creating a new task in section Notify other users…

When do you start following a task?

  • When someone assigns a sub/task to you.
  • When you create a task.
  • When someone marks you in the list of followers.
TIP: Remove people from the following in case they do not participate on completing the task

Very often the process to complete a task is a long shot. It can take weeks. Many people add comments and discuss. It happens when there is too many people following a task. So it is warning signal for you.

Think about it:  Is it really necessary that all users see what I am writing right now? Who are the most involved users that can help and move the task to its successfull completion at this moment?

If not remove some users from the list.

How to set task followers

Set the task followers below the text editor.
Set the task followers below the text editor.

Every user can add and remove users from following anytime. Below the text editor for comments is Notify other users… and via the icon set up followers. Confirm via Save button.

Check or uncheck the box to add or remove a user from following.
Check or uncheck the box to add or remove a user from following.

If you want to start following particular task, there are two ways to switch on the notifications.

First one is via three-dot menu on the left from task name (when you are on the project detail or in To-Do list). Click Start following.

Start following a task via three-dot menu.
Start following a task via three-dot menu.

Another way is via task detail. In the right menu click Start following.

How to start following a task from task detail.
How to start following a task from task detail.

How to ufollow task?

You can always remove yourself or other users from task notifications.

There are several options: via three-dot menu, on the task detail, the notifications window

1. Three-dot menu of the task

In project or To-Do list detail click three-dot menu on the left from task name. Click Unfollow.

How to unfollow a task on To-Do list detail.
How to unfollow a task on To-Do list detail.

2. Task detail

Go to a particular task and click Unfollow in the right menu.

How to unfollow a task.
How to unfollow a task.

3. Notification windows

Via notification centre in bell icon you can unfollow a task. Click three-dot menu in the notification and Unfollow.

Unfollow a task via notifications.
Unfollow a task via notifications.
Animation how to unfollow a task via three-dot menu in nofitications.
Animation how to unfollow a task via three-dot menu in nofitications.

Overview of following

You can remove yourself from following projects and To-Do lists in bulk. Go to your Profile and scroll down to section Followed tasks. There is list of all items you follow.

Find section Followed tasks below on your Profile page.
Find section Followed tasks below on your Profile page.
Your Profile is in the avatar in top right corner > Profile.
Find your profile under the avatar.
Find your profile under the avatar.

Another way to go to your profile is via the section Users in upper blue bar and (Me) your name.

Your profile via section Users.
Your profile via section Users.
Updated on 16.4.2021

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles