Project Notes

Notes are text documents related to the project. Notes help you to keep the important information about the project such as:

  • Links to all related materials.
  • Attach files and pictures.
  • List of important contacts related to project.
  • Report from the meeting.
  • Wiki and know-how related to project.
  • Descriptions of process and manuals.
Recommendation

Do not share passwords in notes. Password manager apps are way better for this.

Detail of the note.
Detail of the note.

How to create note

Go to project detail and select section Notes. Add new note via green plus button. You should name the note, write everything you need and you can also attach files and pictures to the note directly. It helps you keep client’s contact details, project assignments or ideas at one place.

On project detail go to section Notes.
On project detail go to section Notes.
Click on green + icon and create new note.
Click on green + icon and create new note.

Note editing

Any user who has the access to the note can also edit it. There is preview and editing mode. Go to note detail and choose Edit note in right column.

Go to Edit note in right column.
Go to Edit note in right column.

Each note also has a Version history. Anytime the note is edited by anybody Freelo adds the new version. You cannot lose any written information and there is option to renew them.

Check the Version history in right column.
Check the Version history in right column.
Version history of the note.
Version history of the note.

Features of notes

Pin the note to the project

Thanks to pinned note to the project it is visible on project detail. This makes note more at a glance. It is good to pin the project assignment or other important details.

  1. Set up project sections. Go to particular project, click on setting icon on the right and select Setting up project sections and choose the sections you want to see.
  2. Pinned note is displayed with yellow icon and it redirects you to the note. Add new item via green + button.
Set up project sections and pin important links to the project.
Set up project sections and pin important links to the project.

Pin the note to the To-Do list

The pinned note appears as another item in the list. Thanks to note you can have an assignment or discussion to the whole To-Do list.

Notes pinned to To-Do list.
Notes pinned to To-Do list.

Note can be written when adding a new To-Do list or anytime later via Notes > Pin to To-Do List…

Go to note detail and select Pin to To-Do list in right menu.
Go to note detail and select Pin to To-Do list in right menu.
TIP: Pin the note to project

Note is great way to highlight and summarise important information to work on the project. Go to note detail and choose Pin to project. Note appears on project detail.

Switch the view

Go to section Notes in the particular project. Default view is set for small previews of the notes. Via the icon in right corner you can switch between listing and icons next to each other.

Switch preview of notes to listing.
Switch preview of notes to listing.

Access to the note

When adding new note it is visible to all users invited to the project. The project captain can select users who can or cannot see the note. In right menu go to section Access to note has… and click on figure icon.

Set up user access to the note in the right menu.
Set up user access to the note in the right menu.

Discussion and comments

Under the note is place for comments and discussion which works just as in tasks. You can notify other users via @mention, attach files and format the text.

Example of the discussion under the note.
Example of the discussion under the note.
Share files and mention you teammates.
Share files and mention you teammates.

Follow the note

You can follow the note permanently as well as task. Thanks to that no new comments or update cannot be missed. In right menu click on Follow note.

How to follow a note.
How to follow a note.

In case you want to stop following the note click on Unfollow note at the same place.

Share the note

As well as task you can send the note to someone who does not use Freelo via the secret public link. Use the right menu and select Share via public link… and confirm by Generate public link.

Go to Share via public link… and copy unique URL address.
Go to Share via public link… and copy unique URL address.

Copy the generated URL address and share it with anyone, even co-worker who does not use Freelo or client.

Delete note

Only project captain can delete the note. Go to note detail > right menu and select Delete note at the end.

How to delete the note.
How to delete the note.
Updated on 19.2.2021

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles